This is your LIFE.

So, if you are my Facebook friend or follow me on Twitter, you’ve probably seen me post this image before. And if you spend any time on the internets at all, I’m sure you’ve seen it. But it’s my favorite.

It’s the beginning that just jumps out and smacks me across the face. “This is your life. Do what you love and do it often. If you don’t like something, change it. If you don’t like your job, quit.”

And so that’s what I did. It wasn’t a rash, impulse decision. It was drawn out. Probably too drawn out. And it was difficult because the economy is crap and the job market is still relatively non-existant. And I know that I’m lucky to even have a job in my area of study, when there are so many people who don’t have that. And it felt selfish. And maybe it was selfish. BUT, I was unhappy.

If you know me, you probably know the whole story. If you don’t, you can ask if you really want to know. I’m not going to air my grievances on my blog because that’s unprofessional and immature. But I’ll just say that there were a lot of contributing factors to my decision. But the bottom line was that I was incredibly unhappy and was slowly realizing that this was not the place for me.

So, I talked to my friends, my family, and people whose opinions I respected. I discussed my situation and they all expressed that they could sense how unhappy I was. That my current situation was mentally and emotionally affecting me and, while they understood my hesitation to quit, thought that I needed to do what is best for me.

So, last Monday I put in my two weeks notice. And this Friday is officially my last day. And then I’m jumping back on the bartending and serving wagon at AJ Bombers and The Smoke Shack. And I’m going to figure out the next step as I go. Because I know there is something better for me out there. I just don’t know what it is yet. Maybe it involves traveling to another country. Or moving to another state. Or maybe I stay right in Milwaukee. I don’t know yet.

What I do know is that the moment I quit, I felt a huge weight get lifted off me. I know that I’m happier already. I know that I’ll never be one who puts money ahead of happiness. Call it idealistic or naive, but that’s who I am.

 

…..Just promise that if you ever see me living in a cardboard box on the street, you’ll buy me an Egg McMuffin and a bottle of Jack.

~ by etau on January 17, 2012.

One Response to “This is your LIFE.”

  1. If I ever see you living in a cardboard box on the street, I’ll buy you TWO Egg McMuffins and a bottle of Jack.

    Oh and I guess I’d let you sleep on my couch, but I’d make you shower first.

    <3

Leave a Reply

 
