Mischief Managed

It’s the end of an era. Mock me if you will, but Harry Potter defined my childhood, as it did with a lot of people my age. The first book of the series was released right before I turned 9 years old and, since then, I have bought every book on its release date, and read them religiously (and multiple times each). I was 13 when the first movie was released and last night, 10 years later, I was settling into my seat to watch the last chapter of the story. It truly is the end of a huge chunk of my childhood. Is this what growing up feels like?

The Harry Potter series is great. Yes, the character development and depth of the story are well executed, but as a whole, this series has accomplished so much. It got young kids wanting to read again rather than playing video games (and those are NOT short books). It got kids using their imaginations and allowing them to get engulfed in this entirely different world. “Of course it is happening inside your head, Harry, but why on earth should that mean that it is not real?”

I could hardly sit still all day yesterday in anticipation of what midnight would bring. I was bouncing around with excitement. We got to the movie, got our Butter Beer, and grabbed our seats.

mmm...Butter Beer!

I think I was shaking through a good portion of the movie. Mandy and I held hands through most of the movie as we watched the conclusion of our childhood story. I laughed. I cried (a couple times, actually). It’s bittersweet. But I can tell you this, the excitement the 23-year-old Emily felt walking into a Harry Potter movie is exactly the same as what the 13-year-old version of me did. Not only does Harry Potter define a good chuck of my childhood, but it allows you to hold onto a part of your childhood as you enter your adult years.

So, to all my friends who experienced the last chapter of Harry Potter with me last night (all over the country too. I loved all the texts all night!), I encourage you to never forget what it means to be a kid and never let go of that excitement that you feel.

So, I leave you with this quote, as I slowly die at my adult job because my inner-child wanted to go see HP7.2 last night at midnight and then still expect to make it to work at 8:30am. But it was worth it. Every second.

“Harry Potter is all about confronting fears, finding inner strength, and doing what is right in the face of adversity. Twilight is about how important it is to have a boyfriend.” – Stephen King

~ by etau on July 15, 2011.

3 Responses to “Mischief Managed”

  1. Love this. I can’t WAIT to see it tonight, omg.

  2. So wonderful Emily, I share your sentiments exactly!!! I’ll miss this portion of my childhood…but HP will live forever in the books and the movies.

  3. Informative and nicely posted!

Leave a Reply

 
