Restless OR Hey look, Emily can post a video or two!

I’ve been feeling antsy lately…like I need to get up and GO somewhere. Like I need a change of scenery. And, while a vacation to somewhere warm and tropical would be lovely, I think I need a more permanent change of scenery. No, I’m not leaving Milwaukee anytime soon…I just need a change of my day-to-day. So I’ve begun job hunting again.

I love my job. I really do. But the fact that I’m feeling so restless lately is telling me that mmaaayybbee I’m not meant to do the whole bartending thing long term. And that is…relieving to me. A year ago, I was freaking out over graduating from college. I didn’t know what I was going to do, where I was going to work, or where I was going to LIVE for that matter. It was terrifying. I cried pretty much daily. Then, I found this AMAZING internship that was near my parents’ house, and suddenly, I had a plan.

Fast forward a few months and this “amazing” internship was anything but. It was a learning experience, at the very least. Had it bed a JOB and not an internship, I would have stuck it out longer. But as it was, there wasn’t enough incentive. I wasn’t REALLY gaining any experience because I was just doing my own thing. I was the one teaching. So, packed up, moved back to Milwaukee. Settled back into my old job bartending and serving.

Settled.

Settling.

That’s what I’ve felt like I’ve been doing. Yes, the job market is tough. There really aren’t a lot of entry-level positions out there. Everyone wants 5+ years experience. I was looking for jobs when I first moved back up to Milwaukee. Then “Food Wars” aired, business boomed, and money was good. I stopped looking for a degree-utilizing career. I was comfortable. I was having fun. But in reality, I was settling. Where was that girl who was terrified about her future a year ago? I wasn’t even THINKING about my future anymore.

“I only graduated a few months ago. I’ve got time to figure things out. This is temporary.”

But now it’s been 9 months since graduation. And I’m feeling antsy. I want to work on a project again. I want to do something I’m passionate about. I want to go to work and be intellectually challenged.

I applied for two jobs this week. One that I want…and one that I REALLY REALLY want. So keep your fingers crossed for me. I need this. I’m ready to move on to the next chapter of my life. I’m ready for something new.

And if you know anyone who might be interested, send them over to my digital portfolio: http://emilytau.weebly.com (ha. shameless plugging!)

On another random note, I went to the Ben Folds concert at the Riverside Theatre a few weeks ago. Boyfriend won tickets through the A.V. Club Milwaukee for me. It was such a fun concert. I took some video (and then got in trouble for taking video, so I stopped) with my iPhone, so the picture isn’t the best quality, but I wanted to share it :) If you ever get the opportunity to go to a Ben Folds show, DO IT. He’s hilarious, the show is FUN, and that’s not mentioning how ridiculously talented he is! (The song is “Philosophy”)


Second note, the Green Bay Packers won the Superbowl or something. I don’t know. Apparently it’s a big deal here in Wisconsin ;) Me, the girl from Chicago who never really cared that much about football in general, who now lives in Milwaukee, cheered for the Packers. Kind of. I mean, I didn’t really care THAT much, but it’s always exciting being in a city when their team wins the championship. After the game ended, I risked my life to venture into the streets of Milwaukee to film some of the celebration. It was exciting…even if I didn’t really care ;)

Oh, and I built a dresser today. No big deal.

~ by etau on February 15, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
