Next Year…

Happy New Year.  This year, just like last, I will ring in the new year behind the bar. Slinging drinks so everyone can have a good night and a great start to 2011.

I usually love working service industry. I get to talk to people all day, and I’m not stuck in a cubicle at a job I despise. It’s weird hours and that means I get to have some days free to do whatever I want. Oh, and I can wear jeans every day.

But there are definitely times when service industry sucks. And the holidays pretty much top that list. All I really want is to start 2011 off with the boyfriend and my friends. I want to be downing the drinks and celebrating. 2010 was a good year. I graduated college. It’s my first year truly on my own, without any financial help (although, lots of unwarranted financial advice) from my parents. 8 months ago, I was in full-blown panic mode because I didn’t know what I was going to do with my life and I was terrified. Now, as 2011 starts, I’ve settled in. Not permanently, mind you, but I’ve established something of a routine. I’m comfortable. It’s a big year for me. And I get to “celebrate” by helping other people celebrate.

So my new years resolution? Next year, I will not be bartending on new years eve. I’m going to find a real job that uses my degree. I’m going to do something I’m more passionate about. I’ll figure it out. But next year, at this time, I’ll be getting ready to go out with my friends and my man and celebrate instead of getting ready for work.

Happy New Year everyone. I hope 2010 treated you well and 2011 treats you even better. Have fun tonight and be safe. Start 2011 off right.

~ by etau on December 31, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
