Advice for Myself

I’ve always been the friend that people go to for advice. (My favorite being “So, you’re a girl, right? What is [random girl] thinking??” “…uh, I think more like a guy than I do a girl…”) However, I’m AWFUL at taking advice. I give my friends [genius, life-changing] advice that I could easily apply to whatever situation I’m in, but I fail to hear myself.

So, I decided to compile a list of advice I’d tell myself…if I’d ever actually listen.

  • Don’t worry about what other people think. It is YOUR life, and you’re the one who has to live with it. So, don’t choose a career or make decisions based on what other people will think about it. Do what’s best for you.
  • Do what makes you happy. The ultimate goal in life is happiness. Money is important for survival, but happiness is crucial for survival.
  • Be passionate. When you do something, do it wholeheartedly. Care about your craft.
  • Go running more often. Laying on the couch wallowing in your self-loathing doesn’t accomplish anything but creating more self-loathing. Do something about it. Running: exercising while getting a chance to clear your head.
  • It’s OKAY to not have your entire life planned out. It’s okay to not have tomorrow planned out. You’re young, you have time. Take the time to figure out WHAT you want, and then spend the rest of your life working toward your goals.
  • Don’t be afraid to make mistakes.
  • Disconnect occasionally. Turn OFF your iPhone. Get off Twitter/Facebook/Gmail/Gchat/etc. Seriously, it’ll be good for your sanity.
  • Learn how to cook. It saves money.
  • Take what your parents say with a grain of salt. They mean well and want the best for you, but that doesn’t mean that they always KNOW what’s best for you.
  • You don’t have to BE anyone but yourself.
  • Love what you do. Love who you’re with. Love your life.

Nothing is more practical than…falling in love
in a quite absolute, final way.

What you are in love with,
what seizes your imagination,
will affect everything.
It will decide what will get you
out of bed in the morning,
what you will do with your evenings,
how you spend your weekends,
what you read, who you know,
what breaks your heart,
and what amazes you with joy and gratitude.

Fall in love; stay in love,
and it will decide everything.

[Pedro Arrupe, SJ, former General of the Jesuit Order]

~ by etau on July 13, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
