SUPPORT LOCAL

Through all the bitching and moaning about what I hate about the suburbs, the real problem that surfaces is that I just miss Milwaukee.

Four years ago, I never thought I’d be saying those words. I had every intention of “getting through” my four years in Milwaukee and moving back to Chicago immediately. Those four years came and went, I’m living/working back in Illinois…and going to Milwaukee every weekend because it’s where my heart lies.

My favorite thing about Milwaukee is the amazing community of local businesses. OurMilwaukee.net is a “business alliance that advocates for locally owned businesses that provide a genuine, quality experience – in celebration of our community’s unique character.” On the website, they provide a list of local businesses in Milwaukee.

The great thing about buying local is that money stays in the city. Local businesses support other local businesses. Also, the service you get is unlike any other. If you go into a chain restaurant, chances are the staff doesn’t REALLY care about the business that much. They just need a paycheck. In my experience, employees at local businesses truly care about the business. You get to know your regulars. You believe in your business’s mission. And then it shows.

My favorite bars in Milwaukee are the small, hole-in-the-wall dive bars. My favorite restaurants are the ones where you have gotten to know the owner/managers/servers (Do I NEED to mention @AJBombers?). And I only buy beer/liquor from @BlatzLiquor because he’s become a good friend of mine…but it only started because I visited his store and was greeted with great service and an actual conversation. I’d rather get my coffee from Alterra over Starbucks. And I prefer shopping at the locally owned boutiques in Milwaukee’s Historic Third Ward or on Brady Street.

In the end, I plan on moving back to Milwaukee in September…

~ by etau on June 21, 2010.

One Response to “SUPPORT LOCAL”

  1. […] fifteen again – https://emilytau.wordpress.com/ Click Here to Read Full Story […]

Leave a Reply

 
