It’s the Little Things

When you work in the service industry, it’s easy to let your frustrations get the better of you. People can be rude, things can go wrong, and it can get overwhelming. But I try to focus on the little things that make you smile. Even if you have an awful day at work, there are definitely some good things.

Today, despite the fact that I got completely swamped and I had a table (I was serving, not bartending) of teenagers who racked up a huge bill and forgot that it’s customary to TIP (sigh. where are these kids’ parents? who let outside?? go home.), what did I take out of the day?

I had a table that wrote “Thanks Emily!” on the top of their receipt. Simple. Made me smile.

It’s really just the little thing :)

~ by etau on May 1, 2010.

One Response to “It’s the Little Things”

  1. Respect for sure. I definitely agree, its always the little things. No one knows how a written or verbal appreciative thanks can feel so good & bring sunshine. Especially on an icky day in the industry. Kudos to all of you, from an ex industry worker. you ARE WHOLEHEARTEDLY APPRECIATED! =-)

Leave a Reply

 
